Qigong means energy work. It is an ancient Chinese practice including  set of exercises and meditation techniques that allow our mind to remain calm and clear-sighted while improving our physical condition, well-being and health. 

The routine practiced will be different depending on whether you want to improve your physical activities (pre-martial art), improve your health or even cultivate the spiritual side of Qigong. 

Most of us practice Qigong to preserve or improve our health, but it is also possible to practice external Qigong where the experienced practitioner leads the energy to another person for the purpose of healing them.  Qigong is particularly powerful to help in the treatment of cancer, diabetes, high blood pressure, pain due to osteoarthritis, to treat tendonitis or to help insomnia, anxiety and circulation problems. Qigong does not replace in any way a traditional medical treatment which would have been prescribed to you but it will improve the effects.

 

Difference from acupuncture :

 

Qigong is mainly individual. You are in charge of your health and your practice.

More than just unblocking areas of stagnation or overload you will learn how to cleanse your body of toxins and disease. Even more, you will accumulate energy in certain areas of the body and you will be able to circulate this energy when you need it. Finally you can reach meridians inaccessible by needles or inconstant meridians.

 

Effects of regular Qigong practice ;

 

  1. Cleansing of body and mind impurities, toxins and pathogens

  2. Collecting energy (Qi) in the body's natural reservoirs (3 Dantians and 5 yin organs)

  3. Circulation of vital energy 

  4. Clarity of mind

 

How does Qigong work?

 

Qigong is a set of movements and meditation associated with different breaths aimed at balancing the energies of the body, Qi. During this process you will start by working 3 basic elements in order: strengthening the body, improving breathing and controlling our mind. Each element will be worked on and reinforced to allow the passage to a higher level of education. So if the body is stiff and weak, your posture will be poor and therefore your breathing will not be optimal. You will not be at ease and you will remain concerned about pain creating tension affecting your breathing. This will be sporadic and too fast and your mind will be preoccupied. You will not be able to breathe calmly and deeply and you will be unable to slow down the millions of thoughts and anxieties that will go through your mind. Qigong gives you precise tools to deal with these situations.

Body

 

A beginner's Qigong class is like an exercise class with warming up, muscle building, stamina and stretching in all kinds of positions. Much emphasis will be placed on the flexibility and strength of the spine, on the transfer of weight from one leg to the other and on the flexibility of the hips.

 

Breathing

 

Breathing is the vehicle of Qi (life energy). 

Qigong uses diaphragmatic breathing and will be done mainly through the nose. This breathing takes place both in the abdomen and in the back. Breathing includes all facets of Qigong: purification, the storage of new energy in the different energy centers (organs and Dantians) and the circulation of this energy through the body. The breathing will always be deep, calm and slow, never forced.  

 

The mind

 

Your mind will remain calm but alert. It is not necessary to view particular images. The first difficulty at this level is to calm the mind, to prevent looping thoughts related to our anxieties and our everyday life. Stay detached from these thoughts. Be curious and listen to the small changes that will occur as you exercise. Observe your body and mind after each one and ask yourself if you feel a difference.  

 

 

What can you expect when practicing Qigong?

 

As a beginner, it is not uncommon to have certain unpleasant but transient physical manifestations such as tickling, tremors, nausea or heat. These manifestations will disappear quickly with regular practice and are linked to the unblocking of areas where energy stagnates.  

 

As you circulate energy through the body, you will observe certain symptoms:

  1. Heat especially at the fingertips and feet

  2. Vibrations or tingling

  3. A feeling of heaviness in the legs but a lightness of the upper body

  4. A feeling of serenity and inner calm

 

 

Important principles related to Qigong  

 

Both Qigong and Chinese medicine are based on Taoism. 

The Tao is at the origin of the black hole and from this nothingness is born the yin and its opposite the yang, both present in everything. This duality is found in our body, in our actions and everywhere around us. There must always be a balance in everything or there will be blockage and disease.

 

Each of us is born with a certain vital energy inherited from our parents. This energy is found in our kidneys at birth. Our excesses in everything (physical, food or otherwise) as well as our lifestyle contribute to deteriorate or improve this energy.  The loss of this vital energy will be the origin of many blockages and diseases.  

 

By practicing Qigong you will slow down and in some cases reverse this process. 

Indeed, the regular practice of Qigong allows you to increase and store new energy but also to unblock areas of stagnation of Qi at the origin of many diseases. Certain areas of the body act as energy reservoirs: the 3 Dantians and the 5 yin organs. 

Your health and vitality will be preserved if your reservoirs are filled with Qi (life energy) and if this energy travels freely through your body through the meridians (energy highways of your body).

 

The three Dantians are: 

1) the upper one between the eyebrows. It is responsible for the management of spiritual and mental energy, consciousness and intuition. It is a strong and masculine energy

Yang energy.

2) the middle Dantian which represents the energy of the heart. This energy is both yin and yang and represents the energy coming from the breath, from the food as well as the energy inherited from the parents. 

3) The lower Dantian is the reservoir of yin (jing) energy or generative and sexual energy.

These three Dantians are also called the 3 treasures; Shen, Qi and Jing

 

The 5 yin organs

From yin and yang are born the five universal elements or 5 stages of life (see graphic below): Everything on earth as in the universe is governed by the relationships that exist between these 5 elements. For each of these elements you will find a yin organ which will be the reservoir of a particular energy.

 

In fact, there are 2 types of organs important in Chinese medicine; the yin organs: liver, heart / pericardium, spleen, lungs and kidneys. These solid organs store energy. The hollow organs are yang, they receive the fluids and the nourishment. These are the gallbladder, small and large intestine, bladder and stomach.  There is an additional yang organ called the triple warmer which has the role of balancing the functions of the upper and lower body (breathing, digestion and elimination). To be healthy all these organs must be strong and functional, which is why many exercises and meditation aim to heal and strengthen them.

 

 

The 5 elements

These are 5 stages of transformation that you will find in the body and all over the universe. There is a cycle of creation and destruction between these 5 elements. These elements must be in balance to stay energetic and healthy. In the practice of Qi gong it is preferable to work all the organs even if only one of them is sick or weak because the weakness of one of the organs affects the others.

Qigong veut dire travail de l’énergie. Il s’agit une ancienne pratique chinoise comprenant un ensemble d’exercices et de techniques de méditation permettant à notre esprit de rester calme et clairvoyant tout en améliorant notre condition physique, notre bien-être et notre santé. 

La routine pratiquée sera différente selon que vous désirez améliorer vos activités physiques (pré art martiaux ), améliorer votre santé ou encore cultiver le côté spirituel du Qigong. 

La plupart d’entre nous pratiquons le Qigong pour préserver ou améliorer notre santé mais il est aussi possible de pratiquer le Qigong externe où le praticien expérimenté conduit l’énergie vers une autre personne dans le but de la guérir. Le Qigong est particulièrement puissant pour aider au traitement du cancer, du diabète, de la haute pression, des douleurs dues à l’arthrose, pour soigner les tendinites ou encore pour aider les problèmes d’insomnie, d`anxiété et de circulation. Le Qigong ne remplace en aucun cas un traitement médical traditionnel qui vous aurait été prescrit mais il en améliorera les effets

 

Différence avec l’acuponcture :

 

Le Qigong est principalement individuel. Vous êtes en charge de votre santé et de votre pratique.

Plus que juste débloquer des zones de stagnation ou de surcharge vous apprendrez à nettoyer votre corps de toxines et de maladies. Plus encore vous accumulerez l’énergie dans certaines zones du corps et vous serez à même de faire circuler cette énergie quant vous en aurez besoin. Enfin vous pourrez rejoindre des méridiens inaccessibles par des aiguilles ou des méridiens inconstants.

 

Effets de la pratique régulière du Qigong;

 

  1. Nettoyage des impuretés du corps et de l’esprit, des toxines et des pathogènes

  2. Collecte de l’énergie (Qi) dans les réservoirs naturels du corps (3 Dantians et 5 organes yin )

  3. Circulation de l’énergie vitale 

  4. Clarté de l’esprit

 

Comment fonctionne le Qigong?

 

Le Qigong est un ensemble de mouvements et de méditation associés à différentes respirations visant à équilibrer les énergies du corps, le Qi. Au cours de ce processus vous commencerez par travailler dans l’ordre 3 éléments fondamentaux : le renforcement du corps, l`amélioration de la respiration et le contrôle de notre esprit. Chaque élément sera travaillé et renforcé pour permettre le passage à un niveau d’enseignement supérieur. Ainsi si le corps est raide et faible, votre posture sera médiocre et de ce fait votre respiration ne sera pas optimale. Vous ne serez pas serein et vous resterez préoccupé par des douleurs créant des tensions affectant votre respiration. Celle-ci sera sporadique et trop rapide et votre esprit sera préoccupé. Vous ne pourrez respirer calmement et profondément et vous serez incapable de ralentir les millions d’idées et d`angoisses qui vous passeront par la tête. Le Qigong vous donne des outils précis pour gérer ces situations.

Corps

 

Un cours débutant de Qigong ressemble à un cours d’exercices avec réchauffement, renforcement musculaire, endurance et étirement dans toute sortes de position. Beaucoup d’emphase sera porté vers la souplesse et la force de la colonne, vers le transfert du poids d’une jambe sur l’autre et sur la flexibilité des hanches.

 

Respiration

 

La respiration est le véhicule du Qi (énergie vitale).  

Le Qigong utilise la respiration diaphragmatique et se fera principalement par le nez. Cette respiration prend place tant au niveau de l’abdomen que dans le dos. La respiration inclus toutes les facettes du Qigong: la purification, le stockage d’énergie nouvelle dans les différents centres énergétiques (organes et Dantians) et la circulation de cette énergie au travers du corps. La respiration sera toujours profonde, calme et lente, jamais forcée. 

 

L’esprit

 

Votre esprit restera calme mais alerte. Il n’est pas nécessaire de visualiser des images particulières. La première difficulté à ce niveau est de calmer l’esprit, d’empêcher les pensées en boucle liées à nos angoisses et à notre vie courante. Restez détaché de ces pensées. Soyez curieux et à l’écoute des petits changements qui se produiront lors de vos exercices. Observez votre corps et votre esprit après chacun d’eux et demandez-vous si vous sentez une différence. 

 

 

À quoi peut-on s’attendre lorsqu’on pratique le Qigong?

 

En tant que débutant, il n’est pas rare d’avoir certaines manifestations physiques désagréables mais passagères telles que des chatouillements, des tremblements, des nausées ou des chaleurs. Ces manifestations disparaitront rapidement avec une pratique régulière et sont liées au déblocage de zones où l’énergie stagne. 

 

Lorsque vous faites circuler l’énergie au travers du corps, vous observerez certains symptômes :

  1. De la chaleur surtout au bout des doigts et des pieds

  2. Des vibrations ou des picotements

  3. Une sensation de lourdeur dans les jambes mais une légèreté du haut du corps

  4. Une sensation de sérénité et de grand calme intérieur

 

 

Principes important liées au Qigong 

 

Le Qigong comme la médecine chinoise sont basés sur le Taoïsme. 

Le Tao est à l’origine du trou noir et de ce néant est né le yin et son opposé le yang, tous deux présent en toute chose. Cette dualité se retrouve dans notre corps, dans nos actions et partout autour de nous. Un équilibre doit toujours exister en toute chose ou il y aura blocage et maladie.

 

Chacun de nous nait avec une certaine énergie vitale héritée de nos parents. Cette énergie se trouve au niveau de nos reins à la naissance. Nos excès en toute chose (physiques, alimentaires ou autres) ainsi que notre style de vie contribuent à détériorer ou améliorer cette énergie.  La perte de cette énergie vitale sera l’origine de bien des blocages et des maladies. 

 

En pratiquant le Qigong vous ralentirez et dans certains cas inverserez ce processus. 

En effet, la pratique régulière du Qigong vous permet d’augmenter et stocker une énergie nouvelle mais aussi de débloquer les zones de stagnation du Qi à l’origine de bien des maladies. Certaines zones du corps agissent comme réservoirs énergétiques : les 3 Dantians et les 5 organes yin. 

Votre santé et votre vitalité seront préservés si vos réservoirs sont remplis de Qi (énergie vitale) et si cette énergie voyage librement dans votre corps par les méridiens (autoroutes énergétiques de votre corps).

 

Les trois Dantians sont : 

1) le supérieur entre les sourcils. Il est responsable de la gestion de l’énergie spirituelle et mentale, de la conscience et de l’intuition. C’est une énergie forte et masculine

Une énergie Yang.

2) le Dantian du milieu qui représente l’énergie du cœur. Cette énergie est tant yin que yang et représente l’énergie venant de la respiration, de la nourriture ainsi que l’énergie héritée des parents. 

3) Le Dantian du bas est le réservoir de l’énergie yin (jing) ou énergie générative et sexuelle.

Ces trois Dantians sont aussi appelle les 3 trésors ; Shen, Qi and Jing

 

Les 5 organes yin

Du yin et du yang naissent les cinq éléments universels ou 5 étapes de vie (voir graphique si dessous) : Toute chose sur la terre comme dans l’univers est régit par les relations qui existent entre ces 5 éléments. Pour chacun de ces éléments vous retrouverez un organes yin qui sera le réservoir d’une énergie particulière.

 

En fait,Il existe 2 types d’organes important en médecine chinoise ; les organes yin : le foie, le cœur/péricarde, la rate, les poumons et les reins. Ces organes pleins stockent l’énergie. Les organes creux sont yang, ils reçoivent les fluides et la nourriture. Il s’agit de la vésicule biliaire, de l’intestin grêle et le gros intestin, de la vessie et de l’estomac.  Il existe un organe yang additionnel appelle le triple réchauffeur qui a pour rôle d’équilibrer les fonctions du haut et du bas du corps (respiration, digestion et élimination). Pour être en santé tous ces organes doivent être forts et fonctionnels c’est pourquoi beaucoup d’exercices et de méditation visent à les soigner et à les renforcer.

 

 

Les 5 éléments

Il s’agit de 5 étapes de transformation que vous trouverez dans le corps et partout dans l’univers. Il existe un cycle de création et de destruction entre ces 5 éléments. Ces éléments doivent être en équilibre pour rester en energique et en santé. Dans la pratique du Qi gong il est préférable de travailler tous les organes même si seulement un d’eux est malade ou faible car la faiblesse d’un des organes affecte les autres.